Older Articles

Jersey directors shortlisted in national director awards

Jersey directors shortlisted in national director awards

Four senior individuals from both private and public sectors in Jersey have been shortlisted in the national finals of the Institute of Directors (IoD) UK Director of the Year Awards, which take place later this year.

The Awards, to be held in London on 22nd September, are designed to recognise and celebrate the exceptional achievements of individuals at director level within private, public and voluntary organisations across Britain. It is the seventh consecutive year that Jersey will be represented at them.

The Jersey contingent shortlisted for the Awards, all of whom were winners at the Jersey Director of the Year Awards held in April, are:

Director of the Year for Public and Third Sector: Charlotte Valeur, Board Apprentice

Director of the Year for a SME: Tim Crowley, La Mare Wine Estates

Director of the Year for a Large Organisation: Paul Savery, Barclays

Young Director of the Year: Pippa Davidson, Fairway Group

Those shortlisted from Jersey will compete for the national awards from a total pool of almost 80 individuals, including some of the UK’s most successful company directors from across England, Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales.

Chris Clark, IoD Jersey Chair, said: “Senior professionals from Jersey have been shortlisted for these national awards for seven years in a row now, which is a fantastic achievement and a strong reflection of the quality and depth of leadership we are fortunate to have in Jersey, right across the public and private sectors. It’s that strong leadership that will stand Jersey’s organisations in good stead. I wish those shortlisted the very best of luck.”

Jersey individuals have a strong track record in the national Awards. Last year, Lesley Harrison, Chairman of Prison! Me! No Way!!!, and Doug Bannister, Group CEO of Ports of Jersey, were both Highly Commended in their respective categories of Not for Profit/Third Sector Director of the Year and Mid-Market Director of the Year. Previous winners also include Colin Macleod, CEO of the Channel Islands Co-operative Society (Jersey), ‘Large Company Director of the Year’ Award (2015); John McGuinness, Headmaster of Grainville School, ‘Public/Third Sector Director of the Year’ (2014); Eamonn Elliott, General Manager of the Grand Jersey, ‘Young Director of the Year’ (2013); Eliot Lincoln, CEO of Greenlight, ‘Young Director of the Year’ (2012); Richard Rolfe, former headteacher at Le Rocquier School, ‘Public Sector’ category (2011).

The Jersey Director of the Year Awards took place on 28th April at the Hotel de France, hosted by Gyles Brandreth. Appleby were Gold Sponsor of the event and HSBC were Silver Sponsor.