Older Articles

IoD Awards Finalists 2019

IoD Awards Finalists 2019

The Jersey Branch of the Institute of Directors (IoD) has announced a 23-strong shortlist of individuals for the tenth annual search to find the top leaders across Jersey’s private, public and voluntary sectors.

The IoD Jersey Director of the Year Awards celebrate strong leadership and recognise excellence across the business community and public sector. The ceremony will be hosted by special guest speaker, renowned writer, broadcaster, former MP and Government Whip Gyles Brandreth.

The 2019 finalists are as follows:

Director of the Year – Large Business

Michael Clarke - UBS
Andrew McLaughlin - RBSI
Alan Merry - Ports of Jersey

Young Director of the Year

Trina Channing-Rudd - Whitmill
Natalie Passmore - Jersey Water
Dan Williams - Comnexa

Third Sector Director of the Year 

Dina Cook - Wetwheels
Aidan McAvinue - Jersey Community Partnership / Grace Crocker Foundation / Jersey Round Island Challenge / Family First
Melissa Nobrega - Caring Cooks

Public Sector Director of the Year

Mark Capern - Jersey Youth Service
Sophie Le Sueur - Customer & Local Services
Tony Moretta - Digital Jersey
Darren Scott - Channel Islands Lottery

International Director of the Year

Tim Brown - Jersey Post
Childe - Quilter Cheviot
Simon Mackenzie - Intertrust

Director of the Year – Corporate Social Responsibility

Louise Bracken-Smith - Fairway
Ashley Cox - ZEDRA
Simon Nash - Jersey Good Business Charter
Chris Van Den Berg - PwC 

Director of the Year - Start Up

Lee Madden - GR8 Recruitment
Glenda Rivoallan - Soulgenic
Tom Hacquoil - Pinpoint

The 2019 judges are Tim Crowley (Managing Director - La Mare Vineyards), Emelita Robbins (CEO - Jersey Hospice), Dr Lesley Dickie (CEO - Durrell Wildlife Conservation Trust), Graeme Smith (CEO - Jersey Business) and Lisa Springate (Head of Technical - Jersey Finance).

The winners of the 2019 Jersey Director of the Year Awards, supported by long-term Gold Sponsor Appleby and Silver Sponsor HSBC, will be announced at a black-tie awards dinner on Friday 17th May at The Royal Yacht Hotel & Spa.

Chris Clark, IoD Jersey Chairman, says:

‘We have a strong line-up for this year's IoD Awards from our private, public and third sectors. I am pleased to see so many businesses and charities represented; they have all been innovative and inspirational in their own way. These leaders have made a great contribution to our local economy, their teams and society and we wish them all the best of luck at the Awards ceremony in May.’

Michael Cushing, Jersey Managing Partner at Gold Sponsor Appleby, added:

‘Appleby has been a supporter of the IoD Awards since their inception in 2010 and we are delighted to sponsor these awards again this year. In an increasingly dynamic and competitive environment, recognising and applauding those directors with the skills and drive to lead their organisations to adapt and develop has never been so important.’